

EU and EEA countries which, to date, have signed compensation agreements with MIB

When the UK leaves the European Union (EU), the UK will almost certainly be withdrawn from the <u>current 4th Directive arrangements (Protection of Visitors Scheme)</u> which allow victims of road traffic collisions in EU or EEA (European Economic Area) countries to make compensation claims in their own country and language.

MIB has asked the Bureaux and Guarantee Funds of EU and EEA states to sign bilateral Protection of Visitors agreements to facilitate the exchange of information. This would enable MIB and its EU and EEA counterparts to assist victims in obtaining the information they need to make claims in the country where the accident occurred. For full details of which countries have signed the agreements please see below.

Protection of Visitors Agreements – Signed (Y)		
Country	Insured	Uninsured / Untraced
Belgium	Y	Y
Bulgaria	Y	
Denmark	Y	Y
Estonia	Y	Y
Finland	Y	Y
Iceland	Y	Y
Ireland	Y	Y
Latvia	Y	Y
Luxembourg	Y	Y
Netherlands	Y	
Norway	Y	Y
Poland	Y	
Portugal	Y	
Slovenia	Y	Y
Sweden	Y	Y
Belgium	Y	Y