

## EEA countries which have signed facilitation agreements with MIB

When the EU exit transition period ends, the UK will be withdrawn from the current 4th Directive arrangements (Protection of Visitors Scheme) which allow victims of road traffic collisions in EEA countries to make compensation claims in their own country and language. MIB has asked the Bureaux and Guarantee Funds of EEA states to sign bilateral Protection of Visitors agreements to facilitate the exchange of information. This would enable MIB and its EEA counterparts to assist victims in obtaining the information they need to make claims in the country where the accident occurred. There are two agreements – one covering victims of insured drivers and one covering victims of uninsured or untraced (i.e. hit-and-run) drivers. The latter agreement includes a reciprocal clause committing both guarantee funds to compensate victims who are resident in the other country. The agreements signed so far are listed below:

Protection of Visitors Agreements – Signed (Y)		
Country	Insured	Uninsured/Untraced
Austria	Y	Y
Belgium	Y	Y
Bulgaria	Y	
Croatia	Y	Y
Cyprus	Y	Y
Denmark	Y	Y
Estonia	Y	Y
Finland	Y	Y
France		Y
Germany	Y	Y
Greece		Y
Hungary	Y	Y
Iceland	Y	Y
Ireland	Y	Y
Latvia	Y	Y
Luxembourg	Y	Y
Netherlands	Y	
Norway	Y	Y
Poland	Y	
Portugal	Y	
Slovenia	Y	Y
Sweden	Y	Y

In addition, the Guarantee Funds of the following countries which have not signed the agreement (uninsured/untraced) have confirmed that they will continue to compensate UK-resident victims: Bulgaria, Czechia, Italy, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Malta, Netherlands, Portugal, Slovakia, Spain.